Missouri is the newest state to move an excessive anti-abortion invoice, that may ban abortion in virtually all circumstances after eight weeks. Be taught extra in regards to the invoice that might get medical doctors 15 years in jail.
Hours after Alabama handed their controversial, excessive anti-abortion invoice, Missouri’s Republican-led Senate quietly did the identical. Referred to as the “Missouri Stands for the Unborn Act”, the invoice, which handed 24-10, is being referred to as “one of many strongest” anti-abortion legislature in the US by its authors. Missouri now joins states like Ohio, Georgia, and Alabama in making an attempt to remove girls’s bodily autonomy. Nonetheless, this legislation will solely kick in ought to Roe v. Wade be overturned. Nonetheless, this can be a dramatic menace to girls’s rights and lives. As we await Republican Governor Mike Parson to signal the invoice, right here’s what you must know:
1. The invoice outlaws abortion after eight weeks. In a assertion on Twitter, State Senators Dave Schatz and Caleb Rowden mentioned, “At present the Missouri Senate handed one of the vital pro-life payments in the US: Missouri Stands for the Unborn Act. This complete, life-affirming laws prohibits abortions as soon as a heartbeat has been detected, prohibits abortions when a child is able to feeling ache, and would outlaw abortion in Missouri upon the reversal of Roe v. Wade.”
2. Medical doctors might obtain jail time for performing abortions. In contrast to the surprising invoice handed earlier this week in Georgia, girls wouldn’t face imprisonment or prices of homicide for getting an abortion, nor would they be investigated and questioned by police once they have a miscarriage. Nonetheless, medical doctors who carry out abortions might serve 5 to 15 years in jail if convicted. That is much like the Alabama invoice, although medical doctors convicted underneath that legislation might serve 10 to 99 years in jail for a Class A Felony.
3. There isn’t any exception for rape or incest. Just like the Alabama invoice that handed hours earlier than, Missouri’s HB 126 doesn’t permit for abortion in circumstances of rape or incest. Abortions after eight weeks could be allowed in circumstances the place they mom’s life is in peril, or if it’s clear that the fetus won’t survive within the womb.
4. This can solely grow to be legislation if Roe V. Wade is overturned. Like different states passing anti-abortion payments, Missouri’s Republican authorities is banking on Roe v. Wade, the 1973 case that legalized abortion in the US, being repealed by the Supreme Court docket. For the time being, there isn’t a intention to take action on the federal stage, however with SCOTUS now conservative-leaning, anti-abortion politicians have their fingers crossed. Whereas Georgia, Ohio, and Alabama’s anti-abortion payments are slated to grow to be legislation on January 1, 2020, Missouri’s will solely be enacted if Roe v. Wade is demolished.
5. Missouri already has extremely strict abortion legal guidelines. Presently, Missourian girls looking for abortions should bear a 72-hour ready interval earlier than the process is carried out. There’s additionally just one abortion clinic in the complete state: a Deliberate Parenthood in St. Louis, Missouri. There was once 5 abortion clinics, however three have been pressured to shut in 2008 after not assembly new state pointers that abortion suppliers should safe admitting privileges at hospitals positioned inside 15 minutes from their clinics. The fourth clinic, Columbia Well being Heart, closed in October 2018.
Learn the total textual content of Missouri Invoice HB 126 HERE.